We deliver everywhere!The Illustration Art Gallery
The Book Palace
established 1977

020 8768 0022
(+44 20 8768 0022)

Corona Virus: we are open for mail-order business  info
FAST UK DELIVERY (next business day) and OVERSEAS COURIER (usually 5 business days)

Comic Strip Collections A - Z
Eagles Over the Western Front Volume Two

Eagles Over the Western Front Volume Two at The Book Palace

Ref: EOTWF2 (click for larger picture)

Wraparound cover picture (click for bigger picture)
Wraparound cover picture (click for larger pic)

Collect all 3 volumes in the series ...

The second volume of Eagles Over the Western Front picks up the action where volume one left off: 2nd Lieutenant Harry Hawkes is the pilot of an Airco DH2 with a squadron based on the Western Front in France during the early dogfighting days of the First World War. It is 1916 and the early hopes that "it'll all be over by Christmas" have died in the stalemate of barbed wire and churned mud of trench warfare.

Above the trenches, the aerial action continues as Harry and his chums of the Royal Flying Corps risk their lives against the Spandau's of German Fokkers. Max Immelmann may be dead, but the German Imperial Air Force has other 'Aces' like Oswald Boelcke and Baron von Richthofen cutting a swathe through the British and French airmen in the newly developed Albatross D-1. The Allies respond with the Nieuport, the Sopwith Pup and Sopwith Camel to combat this new menace.

But the action isn't all in the air. On the ground, too, Harry risks his life as he gets caught up in the private wars, deserters, impostors, spies and newcomers who seem to have their own agendas in coming to the Front. With tensions running high back at base and Richthofen's 'Flying Circus' turning the skies into a death trap, every flight could be Harry's last…

Bear Alley Books is proud to continue its release of Eagles Over the Western Front, the classic story of aerial action set during the days of the R.F.C. Created by Mike Butterworth and Bill Lacey and serialised in the pages of Look and Learn in 1971-73, Eagles ran a magnificent 116 episodes. Now, for the first time in thirty years, the complete story will be available in three volumes, with two-thirds of the story scanned from surviving original art boards.

Authors: Mike Butterworth & Bill Lacey
Artist: Bill Lacey and Wilf Hardy (cover)
Publisher: Bear Alley Books, 2011
Number of pages: 84
Format: Soft Cover; Black & White illustrations
Size: 8" x 12" (210mm x 297mm)
ISBN: 9781907081569

Price:  15.00
      IN STOCK        $